Daniel Harrison's Personal Blog

Personal blog for daniel harrison

Needed info on java.nio; Google books and oreilly to the rescue April 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — danielharrison @ 11:21 pm
Tags:

The backend of knowtu is a log structured file with MVCC capabilities.  Needing high performance for IO; I’ve been using java NIO.  I’ve played with java NIO a little, but this is something else.  Anyway google search turned up a version of Oreilly’s java nio via google books, I searched through and seemed just the level of detail I needed and well written.  I figured for $58 (PDF + Book + international shipping ($20!)) was going to save me an hour so a worth while buy.  I still think books are the best for detailed technical usage and best practice information.  Given this wasn’t available a few years ago I really like this approach of being able to arbitrarily browse the contents enough to make the decision to buy, so thanks Google, Oreilly and Ron Hitchens.

 

Leave a Reply

